Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Carson Introduces Legislation to Honor Victims of COVID-19

Jun 12, 2020
Press Release

Washington, DC – Congressman André Carson (D-IN) has introduced legislation to honor the victims of the COVID-19 pandemic through the creation of a memorial quilt. The COVID-19 Memorial Quilt Act of 2020 (H.R. 7161) inspired by the iconic NAMES Project AIDS Memorial Quilt, authorizes development of a plan to design, create, and display a memorial quilt commemorating the Americans who died from COVID-19.  

“The horrors of the COVID-19 pandemic have touched every corner of our country, wreaking unprecedented devastation on Americans' lives,” said Rep. Carson. “While our television screens are often filled with public images of empty streets and packed hospitals, we often lose sight of the private isolation and loneliness of the individual struggles against COVID-19. Many thousands of these victims have died alone in emergency rooms or hospitals without the comfort of friends, family or loved ones nearby. Too many have passed away completely alone in their homes. The isolating fear wrought by this disease prevents us from adequately honoring and memorializing the many victims of COVID-19. 

“That’s why I am honored to introduce the COVID-19 Memorial Quilt Act of 2020, to recognize the loss and pain caused by this pandemic. This quilt, inspired in part by the brave advocacy and legacy of the NAMES Project AIDS Memorial Quilt, will help us to publicly recognize and honor the lives of those we have lost to COVID-19. 

Rep. Carson’s legislation will also allow the National Endowment for the Arts to provide grants for artists to design and prepare panels for the memorial quilt. Once completed, the memorial quilt will be displayed on the United States Capitol Grounds with a subsequent display on the National Mall and other locations around the country.

The COVID-19 Memorial Quilt Act of 2020 was introduced with Rep. Blunt Rochester, Rep. Cicilline, Rep. Hastings, Rep. Kaptur, Rep Kennedy, Rep. E.B. Johnson, Rep. B. Lee, Rep. Lewis, Rep. C. Maloney, Rep. Moore, Rep. Norton, Rep. Rush, Rep Visclosky, and Rep. F. Wilson as original cosponsors.